Introductory Post

My name is Heather Kasprzak and my Twitter handle is @hkasprzak.

I am a senior majoring in the art direction of Advertising with minors in General Business Studies and Digital Media Technologies. This semester I am also working as a creative intern at LevLane and participating in an independent study for The One Show Young Ones Competition. If you’d like to take a look at my portfolio or learn a little more about me, please feel free to visit my website by clicking here.

I’m very interested in learning more about mobile technology. It is something that surrounds us constantly in our lives. However, I don’t think everyone realizes just how great of an impact these technologies can have in our society. The topic has come up frequently in my advertising classes. Specifically, we have covered a little about geofencing, apps, location services, and just some other general information. However, we only ever discussed these topics briefly and I think it would be very beneficial and interesting to learn more about mobile technologies. Geofencing is one topic I recently learned about that I am very interested in. I think this infographic explains it very well (click to see a larger version).

Geofencing

It will also be interesting to discuss the issues surrounding these technologies because those questions are constantly arising as technologies evolve. For instance, when people first started creating their own online presence (via Facebook, Twitter, blogs, etc.), a big question was whether or not employers had the right to discriminate based on the information on these platforms. I think these issues still exist and more occur everyday. Many people don’t realize that the technology is already there for our privacy to be invaded. It is up to us, the ones making and implementing this technology, to make sure that we don’t go too far, and I think it is a great topic to discuss. A great example of this can be seen in the story of a teenage girl who received baby coupons from Target despite not telling anyone she was pregnant.

I’m hoping that what we learn in this class will give me an advantage and allow me to make smarter decisions in my career regarding mobile platforms and campaigns. In addition, I am very excited about the blogging and research aspects of this class. I already have done quite a bit of design work in other courses, so I think learning more about blogging and research will allow my work and skills to be a little more rounded.

Alliance Data Systems. (2013). Location-based marketing through geofencing [Infographic]. Retrieved January 13, 2015, from: http://edit.adweek.com/news/technology/learn-how-ads-get-zapped-cellphones-infographic-151825

Kasprzak, H. M. (2014). Portfolio. Retrieved from http://www.hkasprzak.com/

Random House Publishing Group. (2012, February 21). Target knows your secrets (from The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg) [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RC5HNTj3Dag

Leave a Reply

