Desiree intro post

Twitter: @DZimmer527

Hello everyone! My name is Desiree, I am a Junior MSP major on the production track with a minor in business. My goal is to be a television producer but I would like to do video editing when I graduate college. I honestly do not like my business classes at all; however, I am using it as a back up career incase my dream job does not work out. I just recently started interning at CHOP at Galaxy 51 with their media program and I absolutely love it because I get a chance to do most aspects of production and I get to work with children and brighten up their days.

When I first found out there is a class called “Mobile Media” I thought it was very interesting because the current world we live in relies heavily on mobile devices (primarily cell phones). It shows how much change the world has gone through in the past decade because I guarantee this class was not around 10 years ago and now we have studies based on this subject. This class interests me because I enjoy learning how people communicate with one another and how today there are so many different options when it comes to communication.

Through this class I hope to learn more about mobile media and the connection and effects it has on people today. I also hope that this class will force me to put my phone down more and not constantly rely on mobile media because I often find myself attached to my mobile devices. I found this short video that shows how much people rely on their phones and I felt as if this is a great representation of our society

I would also like to learn about the effects of mobile media not only in the U.S., but also all over the world. I also hope to gain a better understanding of why our society has become so dependent on mobile media.

Citations:

Delyer, J. (2013, September 30). Top 10 Best Cell Phone Memes! Retrieved January 15, 2015, from http://ismooth.com/blogs/news/9323585-top-10-best-cell-phone-memes

Galaxy 51 Television Network. Retrieved January 15, 2015, from http://www.chop.edu/services/galaxy-51-television-network#.VLhIYYrF8Yc

Jayaweera, S. (2013, April 17). The effects of using mobile phones. Retrieved January 15, 2015, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DFKWy-ZnOck

Leave a Reply

