Introductory Post

Hi all! I’m Meagan Kaman or @mjaekay on Twitter. I am a senior Film and Media Arts major (concentrating in screenwriting) and Digital Media Technologies minor. I am taking this class at the same time as Mobile Computing in the Computer Science department. In this class we are working on programming for web and mobile media.  I am very interested to see how this class and Mobile Computing complement each other.

In this class I am excited to explore why we make and consume the media we do and what the implications of that media. I think that it will be a good complement to take the critical approach we engage in here and see how it applies to the media that I am (and my classmates are) making in Mobile Computing. I am very excited that we are taking a social justice standpoint as it is something that is very important to me.

I hope that by the end of this class I will have a good understanding of how social justice and mobile media interact. I hope that I will be able to apply what I learn about social justice in mobile media to the media I go on to make.

This is especially as mobile and social media become more and more ubiquitous. I was particularly struck by this fact today when I opened the Guardian on my phone and saw The State of the Union in EMOJIS.

The text of President Obama's 2015 State of the Union in Emoji

I’m not sure exactly when emojis became so ever present, but I was somewhat surprised (and delighted, I won’t lie). I think it speaks to the power of mobile media though, that the Guardian (which broke the Snowden story) has decided to take the time to have someone from their staff “live-emoji” (an upcoming cousin of the “live-tweet”?) the State of the Union. 

While I’m on the topic of emojis (and by extension iPhones and Apple) and generally being trendy, I leave you with your moment of zen (okay it’s Colbert not Stewart).

Works Cited

Comcritic. (2014, September 9). Stephen Colbert Mocks Apple Watch – Iphone (9-9-2014) [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZaUnELYy2C0

Davis, K., Harris, R., Popovich, N., & Powell, K. (2015, January 20). Retrieved January 20, 2015, from http://www.theguardian.com/us-news/ng-interactive/2015/jan/20/-sp-state-of-the-union-2015-address-obama-emoji

Davis, K., Harris, R., Popovich, N., & Powell, K. (2015). State of the Union… In Emojis [Image/Screenshot], Retrieved January 20, 2015, from: http://www.theguardian.com/us-news/ng-interactive/2015/jan/20/-sp-state-of-the-union-2015-address-obama-emoji

Leave a Reply

